Semester dates 2024-2025

St Andrews has two semesters each year: Martinmas semester from September to December and Candlemas semester from January to May.

Semester 1: Martinmas semester

Week Week commencing Events
Pre-sessional Monday 9 September 2024 Orientation week
Week 1 Monday 16 September 2024 Teaching begins
Week 2 Monday 23 September 2024  
Week 3 Monday 30 September 2024  
Week 4 Monday 7 October 2024  
Week 5 Monday 14 October 2024  
Week 6 Monday 21 October 2024 Independent Learning Week (ILW)
Raisin Monday: 21 October
Week 7 Monday 28 October 2024  
Week 8 Monday 4 November 2024  
Week 9 Monday 11 November 2024  
Week 10 Monday 18 November 2024  
Week 11 Monday 25 November 2024  
Week 12 Monday 2 December 2024 Revision week
Graduation ceremonies
Exams begin: Saturday 7 December
Week 13 Monday 9 December 2024 Semester 1 examinations
Week 14 Monday 16 December 2024 Semester 1 examinations
Week 15 Monday 23 December 2024

Exams finish: Monday 23 December
Christmas vacation starts: Tuesday 24 December

Christmas vacation and inter-semester break

Christmas vacation starts on Tuesday 24 December 2024.

Week Week beginning
Christmas vacation Monday 30 December 2024
Inter-semester break Monday 6 January 2025
Inter-semester break Monday 13 January 2025
Inter-semester break Monday 20 January 2025

Semester 2: Candlemas semester

Week Week commencing Events
Week 1 Monday 27 January 2025 Teaching begins
Week 2 Monday 3 February 2025  
Week 3 Monday 10 February 2025  
Week 4 Monday 17 February 2025  
Week 5 Monday 24 February 2025  
Vacation Monday 3 March 2025 Spring Vacation
Week 6 Monday 10 March 2025  
Week 7 Monday 17 March 2025  
Week 8 Monday 24 March 2025  
Week 9 Monday 31 March 2025  
Week 10 Monday 7 April 2025 Independent Learning Week
Week 11 Monday 14 April 2025  
Week 12 Monday 21 April 2025  
Week 13 Monday 28 April 2025 Revision week
Week 14 Monday 5 May 2025 Revision week.
May day holiday Monday 5 May.
Exams begin: Saturday 10 May
Week 15 Monday 12 May 2025 Semester 2 examinations
Week 16 Monday 19 May 2025 Semester 2 examinations.
Week 17 Monday 26 May 2025 Exams finish: Monday 26 May
Extended examination diet.
Exams begin: Tuesday 27 May

Summer

Week Week commencing Events
Summer week 1 Monday 2 June 2025 Extended examination diet.
Exams finish: Friday 6 June
Summer week 2 Monday 9 June 2025  
Summer week 3 Monday 16 June 2025  
Summer week 4 Monday 23 June 2025  
Graduation week Monday 30 June 2025 Graduation ceremonies - Class of 2025